Perfection for Kodaline


After chalking up four hit singles, Dublin quartet Kodaline land at No1 on the Album Chart with their debut release ‘In A Perfect World’.

Bruce Springsteen takes a second week at No2 with his ‘Collection: 1973 - 2012’, while last week’s leaders Daft Punk dip to No3 with ‘Random Access Memories’. Released on Tuesday, Kanye West’s seventh studio album ‘Yeezus’ arrives at No4 – his best debut on this chart since his second and third albums ‘Late Registration’ (2005) and ‘Graduation’(2007), which both came in at No2. Sigur Ros complete the trio of new entries in this week’s Top 10, debuting at No6 with their seventh studio album ‘Kveikur’. This is their fourth consecutive album to debut inside the Top 10, but fails to match their previous release ‘Valtari’ which entered at No1 last year – confirming Ireland’s status as their most successful territory outside their native Iceland.


Robin Thicke takes a sixth week at No1 on the Singles Chart with ‘Blurred Lines’ (feat. T.I. & Pharrell), the longest stretch at the top since November 2011 when Rihanna & Calvin Harris reigned for seven weeks with ‘We Found Love’. Daft Punk and Naughty Boy are non-movers at No2 and No3 respectively, ahead of this week’s highest new entry at No4 for Jason Derulo with ‘The Other Side’. This is the lead single from his upcoming third album and his sixth Top 10 single in Ireland. The next new entry is at No12 for Walking On Cars with the independently-released ‘Two Stones’, their second hit single following ‘Catch Me If You Can’ which reached No27 earlier this year. With a new album ‘The Fifth’ scheduled for imminent release, Dizzee Rascal claims this week’s third and final new entry at No25 with ‘Goin’ Crazy’ (feat. Robbie Williams) – his eighth appearance in the Irish Top 30, five years after his breakthrough ‘Dance Wiv Me’ reached No5.


< Back