Bell X1 Ring The Changes


Bell X1 debut at No1 on the Album Chart with their sixth studio release ‘Chop Chop’. Of the previous five, two others made it to the top – ‘Flock’ in 2005 and ‘Blue Lights On The Runway’ in 2009 – but their previous album ‘Bloodless Coup’ stalled at No3 in 2011.

Kodaline’s ‘In A Perfect World’ slips to No2 after two weeks at the summit, ahead of Jake Bugg whose self-titled debut surges from No70 to No3 – well ahead of previous best No8 back in October last year.  Editors are new at No9 with their fourth album ‘The Weight Of Your Love’, their third consecutive Top 10 album, while The Duckworth Lewis Method complete the trio of Top 20 new entries with their second album ‘Sticky Wickets’ at No12.  Their eponymous debut also paid homage to the game of cricket, reaching No28 in 2009 for Neil Hannon and Thomas Walsh.  Unusually all three of this week’s new entries are independent releases.

Despite a Monday release, Avicii’s ‘Wake Me Up’ lands at No1in the Singles Chart on just four days’ sales.  Of Avicii’s previous four chart appearances, three reached No3 but this is his first No1.  Robin Thicke drops to No2 after seven weeks on top with ‘Blurred Lines’ (feat. T.I. & Pharrell), ahead of Naughty Boy who climbs back to No3 with ‘La La La’ (feat. Sam Smith).  John Newman’s only previous appearance in the Irish Chart was as a guest on Rudimental’s ‘Feel The Love’ which peaked at No26 last summer, but this week he makes his solo debut with ‘Love Me Again’, new at No4.  With his album soaring up the Album Chart, there’s a first ever showing in the Irish Top 30 Singles for Jake Bugg this week, new at No20 with ‘Broken’.

< Back