Monkey Business


Arctic Monkeys fifth album ‘AM’ debuts at No1 on this week’s Album Chart – their fourth No1 in Ireland, with only ‘Suck It And See’ missing out on the top spot (No3 in 2011). Meanwhile the support band on their current UK tour, Cavan youngsters The Strypes, have the next new entry at No2 with their debut album ‘Snapshot’.

In the week that sees HMV making a welcome re-appearance on the Irish retail scene, Kodaline’s ‘In A Perfect World’ drops from No1 to No3, ahead of One Direction’s ‘Up All Night’ at No4 and ‘Take Me Home’ at No5. Kansas R&B singer Janelle Monae claims this week’s third new entry at No7 with her third release ‘The Electric Lady’ – well ahead of the No24 peak for her breakthrough second album ‘The ArchAndroid’ three years ago. The fourth and final new entry in this week’s Top 20 is at No15 for Goldfrapp with their sixth studio album ‘Tales Of Us’. Of the previous five, debut ‘Felt Mountain’ (2000) failed to chart, the follow up ‘Black Cherry’ reached No30 in 2003, ‘Supernature’ (2005) and ‘Seventh Tree’ (2008) both reached No9 and their previous album ‘Head First’ made No17 in 2010.

Katy Perry takes a third week at No1 on the Singles Chart with ‘Roar’, outselling Avicii’s ‘Wake Me Up’ at No2 by a factor of 2:1. After six weeks in the Top 10 OneRepublic climb back to No3 with ‘Counting Stars’, while Ellie Goulding’s ‘Burn’ is a non-mover at No4. After dipping from No19 to No35 last week, Miley Cyrus leaps back to No5 this week with ‘Wrecking Ball’, boosted by the release on Monday of her controversial promo video for the song. Coldplay have this week’s highest new entry at No12 with ‘Atlas’, taken from ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ soundtrack. The original Sugababes, now performing as Mutya Keisha Siobhan, have the next new entry at No14 with ‘Flatline’, thirteen years after their first hit together ‘Overload’ reached No15. The third and final new entry in this week’s Top 20 goes to Arcade Fire who enter at No20 with ‘Reflektor’ – the first track to be taken from their forthcoming album of the same name.

< Back