Raging Bull


Ten years after their debut ‘Youth And Young Manhood’ reached No18 on the Irish Album Chart, Kings Of Leon land at No1 this week with their sixth studio release ‘Mechanical Bull’ – and it’s their fourth consecutive No1 in Ireland.

Arctic Monkeys dip to No2 after two weeks on top with ‘AM’, ahead of Kodaline who hold steady at No3 with ‘In A Perfect World’. Drake’s ‘Nothing Was The Same’ comes into the chart at No4 as the second of five new entries in this week’s Top 10 – this is the Canadian rapper’s third album and by far his most successful to-date in Ireland: ‘Thank Me Later’ reached No32 in 2010 and a year later ‘Take Care’ made No30. The High Kings take the third new entry with ‘Friends For Life’ at No5 – their third appearance in the Top 10 following ‘The High Kings’ (No7 in 2010) and ‘Memory Lane’ (No5 in 2011). Their 2011 concert recording ‘Live In Ireland’ narrowly missed out, peaking at No11. Jessie J’s ‘Alive’, the follow-up to ‘Who You Are’ which reached No4 two years ago, is new at No6, while Birdy has the fifth new entry at No7 with ‘Fire Within’ – an improvement on her eponymous debut which reached No40.

Katy Perry’s ‘Roar’ takes an impressive fourth week at No1, maintaining a solid lead over the nearest challenger Miley Cyrus, whose ‘Wrecking Ball’ moves up a place to No2. Jason Derulo drops to No3 with ‘Talk Dirty’, ahead of OneRepublic’s ‘Counting Stars’ at No4 and Avicii’s ‘Wake Me Up’ at No5. With no new entries in the Top 10 this week, the highest is at No13 for Capital Cities with ‘Safe And Sound’, the L.A. duo’s debut release in Ireland. Also new to the Top 20 this week is Katy Perry’s ‘Dark Horse’ (feat. Juicy J) at No20, up from No22 last week, and the second track to be made available from her forthcoming fourth album ‘Prism’.

< Back