Imelda May - Pole Position Again


Imelda May holds on at No1 on this week's Album Chart for a second week with 'Tribal' despite competition from a trio of new releases in this week's Top 10.

Her closest rivals are Dublin's O.R.B (formerly The Original Rudeboys) who enter at No2 with their second studio release 'All We Are' - an improvement on 2012's debut album 'This Life' which entered at No3. Paolo Nutini drops a place to No3 with 'Caustic Love' while Lily Allen makes her album comeback after a five-year hiatus with 'Sheezus' which debuts at No4. This is her third time in the Irish Top 10 - 2006's 'Alright, Still...' peaked at No6 while 2009's 'It's Not Me, It's You' debuted at No3. The third new entry in this week's Top 10 goes to Ray Lamontagne with his fifth studio album 'Supernova' debuting at No8 - his best performance on this chart to date - his previous best was for 2010's 'God Willin' & The Creek Don't Rise' which reached No13. Two more new releases make the Top 20 this week as both Lykke Li and Natalie Merchant take their latest studio releases into the chart - Lykke Li's 'I Never Learn' enters at No17 and Natalie Merchant's self-titled sixth solo album enters at No20.

There is a minor reshuffle at the top of this week's Singles Chart as John Legend's 'All Of Me' returns to No1 after an absence of one week, usurping Calvin Harris who slips to No2 with 'Summer'. In an otherwise unchanged Top 5 Sigma, Coldplay and Hozier hold on to the next three positions while The Riptide Movement turn around, taking 'All Works Out' into the Top 10 at No10 after the single is chosen as the soundtrack for the latest Discover Ireland campaign. There is only one new entry in this week's Top 20 as Michael Jackson makes a posthumous return to the Chart at No17. Originally recorded in 1983 and now with an added guest appearance by Justin Timberlake, 'Love Never Felt So Good' is the first track to be taken from 'Xscape' - the forthcoming album of previously unreleased material from Michael.

< Back