First For Faithless


Faithless debut at No1 on the Albums Chart with ‘Forever Faithless – The Greatest Hits’: their previous best on this chart ‘Outrospective’ entered and peaked at No5 in June 2001.

System Of A Down have the next new entry at No2 with their fourth album ‘Mezmerize’, a massive improvement on the No47 debut in November 2002 of their previous release ‘Steal This Album’. Basement Jaxx ‘The Singles’ falls one place to No3, Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Devils & Dust’ drops to No4 after 3 weeks at No1 and The Killers ‘Hot Fuss’ slides from No3 to No5. Akon makes it 3 weeks at No1 on the Singles Chart with ‘Lonely’, still maintaining a strong lead over the No2 single Tony Christie’s ‘Amarillo’, which holds at No2. Donna & Joe have a second week at No3 with ‘Love’, ahead of this week’s highest new entry at No4: Black Eyed Peas ‘Don’t Phunk With My Heart. It’s their fifth Irish Top 40 single, and 2 of the previous 4 made it all the way to the top (‘Where Is The Love’ and ‘Shut Up’). The next new entry is Oasis ‘Lyla’ at No5, the first single from the new album ‘Don’t Believe The Truth’. On just 4 days sales (it was released on Monday rather than the previous Friday) they have their biggest hit in Ireland since ‘The Hindu Times’ debuted at No2 in April 2002.

< Back