McMorrow Moves to No1...


Dublin's James Vincent McMorrow releases his latest studio album entitled 'We Move' this week and debuts straight in at No1.

This is his third album release and his best performance to date - 2010's 'Early In The Morning' debuted at No3 while 2014's 'Post Tropical' debuted at No2. Due to supermarket promotions, this week's Album Chart prominently features a multitude of old releases which displace the majority of new entries. With James Vincent McMorrow at No1, Ed Sheeran climbs back to No2 this week with 'X', to be followed by the new release from Northern Ireland's orchestral pop group Divine Comedy with their 11th studio album 'Foreverland'. This equals their previous best for a studio release but it wasn't until its second week on chart that their 1998 album 'Fin de Siecle' also reached No3. Picture This's eponymous EP sits at No4 whilst Gavin James' 'Bitter Pill' comes back up to No5, climbing 22 places from No27 last week. Tommy Fleming's 'Voice of Hope' is this week's highest climber and highest re-entry, returning to No20 from outside the Top100. New releases this week include US indie-folk singer Angel Olsen with her eighth solo album entitled 'My Woman' which debuts at No43 and Jamie T's latest release 'Trick' which comes in at No100.

In the Singles Charts, we have another week lacking new entries. Chainsmokers feat. Halsey hold No1 with 'Closer' whilst DJ Snake & Justin Bieber climb to No2 with'Let Me Love You' swapping places with Major lazer's 'Cold Water' which drops a place to No3. Zara Larsson's 'Ain't My Fault' is the only new entry in this week's Top 75 - entering at No54.

< Back