A Good Day For Daniel


The Singles chart sees a new No1 this week as Canadian singer/songwriter Daniel Powter ends James Blunt’s reign at the top. The first single off his debut album, ‘Bad Day’ climbs to the top from last week’s No 3. 2Pac remains unshakeable at No2 with ‘Ghetto Gospel’ whilst James Blunt’s ‘You’re Beautiful’ drops to No3

This week’s highest new entry is McFly’s ‘I’ll Be Ok’ – the second single off their soon to be released album ‘Wonderland’ – which debuts at No8. Iron Maiden also achieve a Top 20 entry this week with ‘The Trooper’ as does Snoop Dogg whose ‘Ups And Downs’ enters the chart at No19. Supergrass achieve the only new entry in the Album chart this week as their fourth studio album – ‘Road To Rouen’ – debuts at No29 – their only album not to achieve a Top 20 position in it’s first week. Their 1998 album ‘Supergrass’ achieved their best first week position entering the chart at No 3. The Top 10 sees little change this week as James Blunt holds on to the No1 slot for an 8th week making him the first artist since the Beatles ‘1’ album in 2000 to have at least 8 consecutive weeks at No1. The Kaiser Chiefs’ ‘Employment’ moves 2 places to No2 whilst Coldplay’s ‘X&Y’ holds steady at No3. Daniel Powter provides one of this week’s highest climbers as his eponymous album moves from No29 into the Top 10 at No10.

< Back