Shayne Wards Off Bruce’s Challenge


Shayne Ward’s self-titled debut holds at No1 on the Album Chart for a second week, but there’s a strong new entry at No2 from Bruce Springsteen with ‘We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions’. It’s his 14th studio album and follows ‘Devils & Dust’ which spent 3 weeks at No1 a year ago. Christy Moore’s ‘Live At The Point 2006’ slips one place from No2 to No3, ahead of 3 more new entries: Gnarls Barkley at No4 with their debut ‘St. Elsewhere’, Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova ‘The Swell Season’ at No5 and Rihanna ‘A Girl Like Me’ at No6.

Gnarls Barkley have a third week at No1 with ‘Crazy’, ahead of non-mover Shane Ward at No2 with ‘No Promises’ and Rihanna at No3 with ‘SOS’. Brian Kennedy has this week’s highest new entry at No8 with his self-penned Eurovision entry ‘Every Song Is A Cry For Love’. Unlike in the previous 3 years, the ‘You’re A Star’ winner (Lucia Evans – down one place to No6) is not representing Ireland this year. Both Brian & Lucia fall well short of the last 3 Eurovision chart debuts: Donna & Joe entered at No2 in 2005, and both Chris Doran and Mickey Harte came in at No1 in 2004 and 2003 respectively.

< Back