Perfect Timing For Linkin Park


Linkin Park debut at No1 on the Album Chart this week with their third studio album ‘Minutes To Midnight’, four years after their previous studio album ‘Meteora’ performed a similar feat in March 2003. Their first album ‘Hybrid Theory’ and their more recent collaboration with Jay-Z ‘Collision Course’ both peaked at No6 in 2001 and 2005 respectively.

Arctic Monkeys slip to No2 after three weeks at the top with ‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’, ahead of Cascada (down one place to No3) and Manic Street Preachers (non-movers at No4). Rufus Wainwright has the next new entry at No9 with ‘Release the Stars’, his fifth album and the first to make the Irish Top 10 –‘Want Two’ was his only other chart album, reaching No34 in March 2005. Akon climbs the Singles Chart for a fourth consecutive week, up two places from No3 to claim this weeks’s No1. He maintains an impressive hit-rate since the release of his debut single ‘Locked Up’ two years ago: three No1’s from 6 releases. Snow Patrol climb from No20 to No2 with ‘Signal Fire’ (from the Spider-Man 3 soundtrack). It’s their sixth Top 30 single, and moves ahead of their previous best ‘Chasing Cars’ which peaked at No6 in January this year. Avril Lavigne falls from No1 to No3 with ‘Girlfriend’, ahead of Timbaland’s ‘Give It To Me’ at No4 and Beyoncé & Shakira’s ‘Beautiful Liar’ at No5. Rihanna (feat. Jay-Z) has this week’s highest new entry at No8 with downloads of ‘Umbrella’, ahead of physical release scheduled for 25th May.

< Back