Morrison Makes His Mark


It’s all change at the top of the Album Chart this week with James Morrison vaulting from No13 to No1 with ‘Songs For You, Truths For Me’ – just 7 sales ahead of Beyoncé who slips to No2 after two weeks on top. This, his second album, debuted at No14 on release in September last year, but now surpasses the No5 peak for his first album ‘Undiscovered’ in 2006 to give him his first Irish No1.

Antony & The Johnsons follow up their Mercury Prize-winning second album ‘I Am A Bird Now’ with ‘The Crying Light’ - this week’s highest new entry at No8 and their first Irish Top 10 album. Outside the Top 10, two other critically-acclaimed bands make their chart debuts: Animal Collective at No13 with their ninth album ‘Merriweather Post Pavilion’ and White Lies at No23 with their first release ‘To Lose My Life’. Lady Gaga takes a second week at No1 on the Singles Chart this week with ‘Just Dance’, ahead of James Morrison & Nelly Furtado who climb to No2 after six weeks in the Top 30 with ‘Broken Strings’. Two of last week’s highest climbers break into this week’s Top 10: Kevin Rudolf & Lil Wayne climb from No12 to No6 with ‘Let It Rock’ and Lily Allen moves five places from No13 to No8 with ‘The Fear’, the first single from her forthcoming album ‘It’s Not Me It’s You’. Pink’s ‘Sober’, the follow-up to her 2008 No1 ‘So What’, leaps 16 places from No29 to No13, giving her a fifteenth Irish Top 20 single in eight years.

< Back