Snow Patrol At The Summit


Thirteen Years after the release of their debut album ‘Songs For Polarbears’, Snow Patrol debut at No1 on this week’s Album Chart with their sixth studio album ‘Fallen Empires’ – their fourth consecutive No1 in Ireland following ‘Final Straw’ (2003), ‘Eyes Open’ (2006) and ‘A Hundred Million Suns’ (2009).

After two weeks at No1 Florence + The Machine’s ‘Ceremonials’ drops to No2, ahead of The Coronas who arrive at No3 with their third album ‘Closer To You’ - matching the No3 debut for ‘Tony Was An Ex-con’ in 2009 and well ahead of the No21 peak for their first album ‘Heroes Or Ghosts’ in 2007.  JLS release ‘Jukebox’ this week, their third album in three years, and enter the chart at No5 – compared with No1 for their self-titled debut in 2009 and No4 for last year’s ‘Outta This World’.  After disbanding in September, R.E.M. bow out with a career-spanning greatest hits album ‘Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage’ - this week’s fourth new entry at No16.  The fifth and final newcomer to the Top 20 is Andrea Bocelli at No17 with ‘Concerto – One Night In Central Park’, two years after his previous release ‘My Christmas’ debuted at No8.

Rihanna and Calvin Harris take a sixth week at No1 on the Singles Chart with ‘We Found Love’, ahead of Florence + The Machine’s ‘Shake It Out’ – a non-mover at No2.  One Direction have this week’s highest new entry at No3 with ‘Gotta Be You’ the follow-up to their debut release ‘What Makes You Beautiful’ which spent four weeks at No1 in September.  With four Irish No1 singles under his belt, Flo Rida claims this week’s next new entry at No5 with ‘Good Feeling’, his tenth appearance on this chart in less than four years.  Twelve years and 25 hit singles since their debut in 1999, Westlife land their 26th this week with ‘Lighthouse’ at No11 – and their second Greatest Hits collection is released today (Friday 18th Nov).

< Back